Happy birthday - Reisverslag uit Wenen, Oostenrijk van Lai - WaarBenJij.nu Happy birthday - Reisverslag uit Wenen, Oostenrijk van Lai - WaarBenJij.nu

Happy birthday

Door: Lilalai

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lai

06 April 2017 | Oostenrijk, Wenen

Vienna 28th March till 7th of April.

I stayed 10 nights in Vienna, it wasn't exactly how i had it planned it in my head before but my friend asked me to come a week later to Bled, so i decided to stay in Vienna with my birthday.

Vienna is a big city with a lof of interesting places to see. Some people would walk everywhere, but i did the opposite. I almost used the metro every day. I know it's not something for me, but i found the city to big.

The weather was so good in Vienna that i didn't do much inside. Maybe the only interesting indoor activity that i did go to was the national library hall of Vienna.

The first 5 nights i stayed in the Wombat hostel, it was a very huge hostel, but i had a really good time there. I slept in a six beddorm, where they could put 12 people in. I could even do a dance rehearsel in there, so much space was left. For an extra of 4,50 euro i could eat breakfast all morning and the choices were enormous. The best breakfast so far. All 5 nights i slept perfect, there was no noise of other people or rooms. Whatever i wanted to do; chilling, going out, reading, sleeping, doing the laundry, cooking i was able to do that. The hostel was close to the metro and across the street there was Zanoni ice cream shop garda, where they had the best ice cream so far. Next door there was a chinese, where ofcourse i ate twice and the supermarket was on the other side.
My other 5 nights i slept just outside of the city, because it costed me 60 euro less to stay another 5 nights. This hostel named Hütteldorf youth hostel was also huge but had no nice enviroment, it was one big cantine, very dissapointing.

In Brünnengässe i went to Kent an turkish restaurant, but when i had one foot in the venue, i stopped. My eyes looked around and i saw only turkish men playing cards and games. Uhm really, was i planning to go here, was i thinking. The barman came straight up to me and guided me directly to the exit. You should have seen their faces, when i walked in. I was wearing shorts with a panty, but i can't hide my long legs, so probably it would still be inprohibited for their culture.
In Kent the real restaurant, just around the corner, i sat down and ordered the specialty of the house. I got half a loaf of airbread, but it was huge! With that i got fresh feta cheese, olives, butter surrounded by honey, falafelmeat, frsh tomato and cucumber and a stick made from spinach. A drank a tea with it and it costed me only €6,90 and that was breakfast.

From the wombat hostel i got the metro u3 to langefeldgässe and then the u4 to Trilligenstadt, from there the 38A bus to Kahlenberg. I walked around for a bit till i found a waldseilpark on the Leopoldsberg. It looked fun, so i joined. i started with the youth courses, come on, youth?????
Ridicillious high, wobbely, whahahaha. I was going slow, even the small kids were faster then me. Any way when i got the hang of it, i found the black route, that's for grown ups. I started with VI, the hardest one so i heard in the end. " oh my god" so high, so scary, and where were my mussels. I was struggling so badly, but i was able to do it on my own time. No one was behind me for an hour or so. The big foot was the most scariest. I was standing in the middle of two trees, high above ground and the wind rise up. The trees were natural, normal trees you know and they were going right, left..... right, left..... right , left...... and i was scared. Holding myself onto the rope. I was in a harnas, but if you think about what could happen wrong, then........................... don't think that. I made the course till the end. Pushing myself through the rest of the grown up trails. 2 were thankfully out of order hahaha.
Number I trail started with a wobbely climbing board, then a monkey fitnesstrail, who i didn't made till the end, my skin got off and thankfully my harnas suit worked, because it got me hanging onto the rope, above the ground. It was a good adventure, i enjoyed myself a lot. For €28,- i could spent 4 hours at the waldseilpark and i used the entire 4 hours. Tired, muscelpain dehydrated i took the bus and the 2 metro's back to the hostel.

06-04-2017
Happy Birthday!! 30 years old, can you imagine??

In the morning i sat on a bench outside of the park eating chocolat. I was in my own world and not knowning that a guy was running up. He sat down next to me, being out of breath. I offered him chocolat, he refused. "ofcourse he refused. He's running up, out of breath, why the hell would he like to eat a piece of chocolate!!"
The rest of the day i spent at Lainzer Tiergarten. Just walking, walking and walking around. Lainzer Tiergarten was so peacefull. The wind through the trees, leaves poison green, dead trunks, birds whistling, squirrels hopping away. I ate twice a sweet desert. First an apple strudel with warm vanilla sauce and the second time a home made nougat brownie. At 17.00pm i was back at the hostel. My dinner would be at Stag's Head pub. I ate a massive hamburger with potato wedges. It was delicious! With the bartenders Yasmine and Mirza i had a birthday shot and they sang happy birthday for me. After dinner, 2 strong caipirinha's and a shot i went home. I had a really good birthday, watching darts and soccer. Two of my favorite sports hahaha.

In my second hostel i also met Mo a young guy who escaped 1,5 years ago from Aleppo. I recognised his orange ing debetcard. He would tell me and others he's living in the Netherlands, but he's from Aleppo. I played some table soccer with him, i sucked big time and with some pool i was ok hahaha. Mo is a 20 year old boy and already speaks Dutch. He is very positive about the future and smiling a lot. After a year and a half he is already civilised in Dutch culture, saying we shortcut our words and the most important thing is that we dutch people complain a lot and that is the first thing what we learn when we grow up. Hahahah.
I had a lot of fun with him, one day he came back with the most biggest oetiker clamp pliers, because he lost his tiny key of the locker and his value belongings were in the wardrobe. It was so funny seeing him what that massive thing. Hahahhaa it's sad i don't have it on camera.

Well this was the end of Vienna, thank you for reading, i'll be back soon! Croatia is next......

Bye li de la lai

  • 28 Juli 2017 - 19:43

    Mathea:

    Hallo Lai,
    Leuk geschreven verhaal en ik ben blij dat er op je verjaardag , kroonjaar 30, voor jou gezongen is. Maar ik ben eigenlijk heel benieuwd naar je belevenissen op dit moment. Hoe vergaat het je in Bled tussen al die backpackers?
    Groeten, kus, mom Thee

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Lai

Lieve familie, vrienden en geïnteresseerden, Het is bijna zover! Ik ga weer op pad! Natuurlijk willen jullie allemaal weten wat ik doe, wie ik ontmoet en waar ik uithang! Daarom deze site: waar jullie al mijn avonturen kunnen volgen, andere gewoontes/ culturen op kunnen snuiven en mij op de hoogte kunnen houden van jullie doen en laten. Laat wat van je horen! Liefs Lai

Actief sinds 08 Okt. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 495
Totaal aantal bezoekers 69906

Voorgaande reizen:

10 Januari 2016 - 10 Januari 2017

Slenteren door Europa

08 Maart 2013 - 01 November 2014

Vlieland

14 Januari 2014 - 15 April 2014

Australia here i come again!!

15 Januari 2012 - 15 Januari 2013

Mijn droom

Landen bezocht: