My time in Beverley - Reisverslag uit Beverley, Australië van Lai - WaarBenJij.nu My time in Beverley - Reisverslag uit Beverley, Australië van Lai - WaarBenJij.nu

My time in Beverley

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lai

17 September 2012 | Australië, Beverley

Good day mates!

It took me a while to write a story about my time in Beverley. I've been doing a lot, but also nothing. So to write an interesting story and make it funny to read took me 2 months. Here it goes..........

On tuesday the 26th of June i arrived in Beverley. The 27th of June i started working. In one day i already knew where i could find the keys and everything i needed for my work as a housekeeper and bar attendant. Besides that, it only took me 3 days to know all the regulars names and drinks. Everyone was surprised how fast i learnt, including myself. Even though i knew everyones name and drinks it was very quiet in the pub and hotel. The first couple of weeks were very boring. It was 1 hour cleaning in the morning and then i had the whole day off till 16.30. So to fill in my afternoons, i bought a pushbike, with helmet. Strictly neccesary.

My first bike ride was 6km to Avondale, the discovery farm. It took me 45minutes to get there. My condition sucked. The second bike ride was 12km, it took me 2 hours one way. The third bike ride was with Luise to York. 2,5 hours to York and 3 hours back to Beverley. In total 68km. This was the first time that we were both glad to be back in Beverley. Our butts were so sore, that it took us a week to get on the bike again. But a high-five was it really worth it!
After the bike ride to York, people in town started making fun of me and my pushbike. They teased me and i teased them back. They invited me to their homes and took me to Perth. My afternoons were so busy, that the quietness at work didn't matter anymore.

Already after two weeks, my boss gave me the responsibility over the TAB machines. (gamble machines) And after a month, he left me alone in the pub during the day, so that he and his wife could do something in the afternoon.
I enjoyed myself more and more and funny enough i became more social then i have ever been before. The local people like me a lot. The other day, they told me that i've done something to the pub, that makes people come back. With my big smile everyday and my chat, i've brightned the place up. they even asked me if i was a stand-up comedian. They call me a wicked girl.
A lot of regulars say that i'm the best barmaid in a couple of years, but they also think there's something wrong with me. Because i don't drink often, i never let my hair loose and i love to cycle and go to the cinema's on my own. I guess they do care about me.

Since Luise left Beverley and Australia, to go back to New Zealand, me and my pushbike are best friends. I've been cycling a lot around here. Everytime further and further away. I even cycled again to York. This time it was on a sunday during my free time off in the afternoon. I took the top Beverley road, that's the hilly road, one way. And back the Southern highway, that's the flatroad back to Beverley. In 4 hours i made my personal record, excluded 20min break. I was so happy and i slept great.

One day, when i cycled back to Beverley, some black bird aggressively dived towards me a couple of times. Because of my sunglasses, cap and helmet i couldn't see the bird. It was only because of the shadow that i could see the bird coming after me. I tried to avoid the bird. It was very dangerous, i was scared, but at the same time it also made me laugh.
The birdsname is Magpie and it's their breadingseason, so they protect their nests aggressively. Beside the Magpie, i also discovered two blackspiders in my showerblock. It really freaked me out. It took me two weeks to kill them both. No wonder i don't like animals, they just don't like me ;-).
Except for dogs, they do like me here on the other end of the world. Strange enough they don't stink, don't bark and just come sit with me. Graham's dog as well known as monkey or i call him santa clause, his dog Gipsy, she was the first dog in Australia, who i cuddled and talked to. After that it was Ruby, Michaels dog and Philly, Trevor's dog. Who knows i end up buying a dog myself ahum .................... ha ha ha

The last couple of weeks it's more busy in the pub as well the hotel. So more work for me. Last saturday the 8th of September, it was very busy. I worked very hard and had a lot of fun until 13.30. Brian came in and told us that Hammer died.

Hammer was the Freemasons tavern furniture. He was the first person i shaked hands with when i arrived in Beverley. Always, every single day he sat in the pub, drinking port, a handle of carlton mid or stubbie cc dry. He survived winterime, even though he ended up in the hospital, cause someone cared about him. So stubber as he could be, so grumpy as he was when he left the hospital and so annoyed i was with his endless discussions and hateness to everything, so sad that i am now, that he left us.
The last couple of weeks Hammer was different and happy. Two days before he past away, he gave me a block of chocolate, cause i always shared mine. He gave me hugs, when he knew he made me grumpy. He smiled, made jokes and teased me. he had bad habbits; drinking, smoking, gambling, not eating, but he was harmless. He looked happy!

In 5 minutes, the whole town knew that Hammer past away. It's amazing how fast new goes around here. I couldn't believe that Hammer was dead, and i couldn't grief either, cause it was so busy. So i worked till 00.30 with a big smile on my face. Cause in hospitality jobs, work and personal lifes are seperated. It was a very nice day, beside sadness. Hammer past away, but a new baby boy was born in town.
The day before Hammer died, i said see ya tomorrow, but tomorrow never came. It's weird to not having him in the pub. Still i do see him everyday sitting at the bar, giving me a eyelash and looking at me.


09-09-2012
I saw a fox, emu and magpie today. They were running, staring and flying away. The sky was blue, the clouds were white. The paddock field: green, yellow and bright. It's a beautiful day! Yesterday was sad, because you Hammer past away. Today we'll eat chocolate and drink port to you. Don't worry, no one will ever forget you.
Rest in Peace Hammer


Things to know:
* They call me the bikie in town
* They think that Beverley is a culture shock for me
* They think i've never seen a bloody sheep or cow before
* I've never eaten so much fastfood in my whole life
* My weight has never been so much, that i can't fit two of my pants anymore
* I've never sat in wintertime in short trousers and without a scarf or jacket
* I've never been so long away from the Netherlands by myself.

  • 17 September 2012 - 09:00

    Nikki:

    Super mooi verhaal Lai! Geniet ervan daar!
    En stiekem mag je best naar huis komen.. ;)

  • 17 September 2012 - 18:15

    Mathea:

    Hello sweet bikie,

    Je hebt de locals toch zeker wel uitgelegd dat Nederlands worden geboren met een fiets onder hun kont. Die fiets heeft je maar mooi bewegingsvrijheid gegeven. Zelfs de aussie animals hebben dat opgemerkt !!
    Wat zullen ze jou daar in Beverley gaan missen over een paar weken; no more bright smile from a beautifull girl, no more wicked girl on a bike. Kun je die fiets nog voor een prikkie verkopen ?
    Ik denk dat je snel gewicht gaat verliezen als je weer op sjouw gaat met de rugzak, komt goed.

    Wat verdrietig Lai en tegelijk ook heel bijzonder dat je Hammer hebt gekend en nu meemaakt hoe een kleine gesloten gemeenschap afscheid van hem neemt. Ga je dat gedcihtje ophangen in de pub?

    Jij en een hond aanschaffen....... echt niet ! Wel goed dat je niet meer zo bang bent van honden.
    Kun je trouwens die fiets en helm nog verkopen ?
    Groetjes, mom Thee

  • 17 September 2012 - 18:16

    Mathea:

    Oeps !
    Ik bedoel natuurlijk Nederlanders ( het volk ) en niet Nederlands (de taal)

  • 19 September 2012 - 15:23

    José:

    Hallo Lai,
    Ik heb je al een tijdje niet meer gevolgd, maar wat een mooie verhalen. Zo te lezen gaat het echt goed met je en beleven de mensen om je heen veel plezier aan jou. Dat is de kracht van een goede bar dame toch!! Niet te vergeten de kracht van een leuke, mooie Hollandse meid.

    En volgens mij heb je al zo'n beetje heel Australië gezien? Wat een onvoorstelbaar groot en mooi continent hè? En zo te lezen ga je binnenkort weer verder. Rugzak op en onderweg naar het volgende avontuur.

    Tof van die fiets trouwens. Jammer dat die niet verder mee kan. Een fiets is echt vrijheid. Je kunt meer zien en doen en alles in een lekker menselijk tempo. Zo te lezen moest je dat trouwens wel opbouwen, maar die zere kont is vast wel weg.

    En ik zie je helemaal voor me. Lekker rustig wat dromerig op een bankje en naast je een dromerige rustige hond met de kop op de voorpoten. En natuurlijk denken aan al dat mooie om je heen.

    Lai take care and read from you again.
    Liefs, José

  • 25 September 2012 - 05:06

    Lilalai :

    Hey Nikki,
    Bedankt voor je berichtje. Don't worry, de tijd gaat super snel!!! Ben zo weer terug in Nederland. :-)
    Hoe was je verjaardagsfeest?

    Hey mam,
    Ik denk niet dat ik dat gedicht van Hammer ga ophangen in de pub. Ik ben er namelijk nog niet helemaal tevreden mee. Mijn andere gedicht voor de mensen in Beverley komt de volgende keer op mijn blog. En mijn best friend (mijn pushbike) is helaas gisteren gestorven. Mijn beide banden zijn lek gegaan, toen ik gisteren in het bos aan het fietsen was. Dus verkopen dat gaat helaas niet meer.

    Hey Jose,
    Bedankt voor je reactie! No worries, heb zelf ook geen kaarten meer verstuurd, althans niet naar heel de familie. Het gaat inderdaad nog steeds goed met mij. Maandag 1 oktober ga ik weer op pad. Eerst naar Perth en vervolgens naar Broome en Darwin. Heb al veel continenten gezien, maar heb er nog een aantal te gaan. Het is inderdaad een groot land, te groot om alles echt te kunnen zien of mee maken in minder dan een jaar, maar ik doe mijn best.

    Mijn tijd tot zover is geweldig en de mensen die ik ontmoet heb zal ik nooit meer vergeten.

    Mijn volgende verhaal en avonturen lees je volgende week in mijn volgende blog.

    See ya

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Beverley

Mijn droom

Recente Reisverslagen:

31 Januari 2013

Last update Australia

07 Januari 2013

Good Morning Vietnam

04 November 2012

Go with the flow

04 Oktober 2012

Goodbye Beverley

17 September 2012

My time in Beverley
Lai

Lieve familie, vrienden en geïnteresseerden, Het is bijna zover! Ik ga weer op pad! Natuurlijk willen jullie allemaal weten wat ik doe, wie ik ontmoet en waar ik uithang! Daarom deze site: waar jullie al mijn avonturen kunnen volgen, andere gewoontes/ culturen op kunnen snuiven en mij op de hoogte kunnen houden van jullie doen en laten. Laat wat van je horen! Liefs Lai

Actief sinds 08 Okt. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 558
Totaal aantal bezoekers 69963

Voorgaande reizen:

10 Januari 2016 - 10 Januari 2017

Slenteren door Europa

08 Maart 2013 - 01 November 2014

Vlieland

14 Januari 2014 - 15 April 2014

Australia here i come again!!

15 Januari 2012 - 15 Januari 2013

Mijn droom

Landen bezocht: