Goodbye Beverley - Reisverslag uit Perth, Australië van Lai - WaarBenJij.nu Goodbye Beverley - Reisverslag uit Perth, Australië van Lai - WaarBenJij.nu

Goodbye Beverley

Door: lilalai

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lai

04 Oktober 2012 | Australië, Perth

Every day i've seen new faces,
remembering different drinks and names.

Every day was different,
but in some kind of way the same.

Every day was another day,
going past quickly as the rain.
No doubt that every day looked the same.

14 weeks later and i'm off to go,
a new adventure will start tomorrow.

Thank you all for your kindness,
your chat and buying beer.
Because without you, not serving,
I had no job, I wasn't here.

So thanks to all the people
who invited me to their homes,
welcomed me with their smile
and teased me with their jokes.

It definitely made my stay more pleasant.
So where ever I'll go, no matter how many miles i'm away.
Beverley, the town and it's people,
will be remembered where ever I'll stay.

Now it's time for me to say goodbye.
The girl from the Netherlands,
who's name is Lai.

Take care!

With this poem hanging on the wall in the Freemasons Tavern in Beverley i said goodbye to everyone who was there.
The regulars gave me a red cap and a singlet of the Redbags in Beverley. As well known the football club in Beverley. I got another cap from Greg and Gail, with Beverley western australia on it and Veronica gave me a blue and red bracelet, with matches earrings. Then Bob gave me a coin with a bird on it and Graham made this wooden souvenir for me. I felt like it was my birthday. A lot of people gave me a hug and a big smile and thanked me for the service, some even cried.

It was weird to say goodbye and to leave Beverley on the 1th of October, but it was really time for me to go. Philly drove me in her car to Midland and from there I took the train to Perth city.
I booked in the Grand Central Backpackers, where i already had stayed for one night when i escaped Beverley for one night.

Straight away I met Pia and Christine and for the last 3 days we hang out with each other. I definitely didn't think that i would meet such great people the first day when i arrived.
I'll stay in Perth another 4 nights and then Monday the 8th of October i'll go on a 10 day tour up to Broome.

I still have some stories to tell about my stay in Beverley, but you'll read that next time. For now I just want you all to know, i'm doing fine and enjoying my time in Australia.

Cheers!

Lai

  • 04 Oktober 2012 - 10:11

    Mathea:

    Wauw Lai,
    dat jij dat kunt, poëzie schrijven in het engels. En nog mooi ook. Petje af !! Afscheid nemen is niet jouw sterkste kant, dus ik kan me iets voorstellen bij dat laaste uurtje Beverley.
    En nu lekker genieten van het gezelschap en Perh en dan weer nieuwe avonturen tegemoet.
    Zet 'm op van Heijstertje !!!
    kus, mom

  • 04 Oktober 2012 - 10:31

    Joost:

    Hi Lai,

    Let's do it in English, allright? So, your quoting: 'going past quickly as the rain.' in your poem.
    Really, if you could come back to this side of the equator for a day, you would see that rain does NOT pass quickly.... :(

    Anyway, good to read your stories and knowing your all fine. Enjoy your adventures as well as your time in Asia.

    Cheers,

    xx Joost en Dao

  • 04 Oktober 2012 - 10:31

    Joost:

    Hi Lai,

    Let's do it in English, allright? So, your quoting: 'going past quickly as the rain.' in your poem.
    Really, if you could come back to this side of the equator for a day, you would see that rain does NOT pass quickly.... :(

    Anyway, good to read your stories and knowing your all fine. Enjoy your adventures as well as your time in Asia.

    Cheers,

    xx Joost en Dao

  • 01 November 2012 - 09:20

    Ans In Hobart:

    Hallo lieve Lai, nou zeg, een gedicht aan de muur in Beverley en dan nog wel in het Engels! Hartstikke goed. Als ik ooit in Beverley kom (en dat is uiteraard best mogelijk aangezien Peter en ik op onze ouwe dag een reis door Australie willen maken) dan ga ik kijken of het gedicht er nog hangt.
    Inmiddels weet ik dat je een kanotocht op een rivier hebt gemaakt. Wat betekent dat: een self-guided tour? Is er dan helemaal geen gids bij? Moet je dan zelf maar oppassen dat je niet door de krokodillen wordt opgepeuzeld? Dat je dat durft? Ik zat net koffie t drinken met je neef Paul toen jouw kaart binnenviel en hij zei ook meteen dat ie ervan stond te kijken dat je zoveel onderneemt in de afgelegen gebieden in Australie. Veel plezier in Darwin de komende tijd. Ik hoop dat het niet te heet gaat worden daar. Pas goed op jezelf en tot ziens. Ans
    PS Het was hartstikke eluk om je moeder en Dao en Joost in Veghel te zien. Wel raar, zonder jou!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Perth

Mijn droom

Recente Reisverslagen:

31 Januari 2013

Last update Australia

07 Januari 2013

Good Morning Vietnam

04 November 2012

Go with the flow

04 Oktober 2012

Goodbye Beverley

17 September 2012

My time in Beverley
Lai

Lieve familie, vrienden en geïnteresseerden, Het is bijna zover! Ik ga weer op pad! Natuurlijk willen jullie allemaal weten wat ik doe, wie ik ontmoet en waar ik uithang! Daarom deze site: waar jullie al mijn avonturen kunnen volgen, andere gewoontes/ culturen op kunnen snuiven en mij op de hoogte kunnen houden van jullie doen en laten. Laat wat van je horen! Liefs Lai

Actief sinds 08 Okt. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 610
Totaal aantal bezoekers 69963

Voorgaande reizen:

10 Januari 2016 - 10 Januari 2017

Slenteren door Europa

08 Maart 2013 - 01 November 2014

Vlieland

14 Januari 2014 - 15 April 2014

Australia here i come again!!

15 Januari 2012 - 15 Januari 2013

Mijn droom

Landen bezocht: