Greetings from Beverley - Reisverslag uit Beverley, Australië van Lai - WaarBenJij.nu Greetings from Beverley - Reisverslag uit Beverley, Australië van Lai - WaarBenJij.nu

Greetings from Beverley

Door: Laitje

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Lai

02 Juli 2012 | Australië, Beverley

Hello People,

This time i'm gonna write my blog in English, sorry if my English is not correct all the time.

Here we go.....

Tuesday the 12th of June at 6 o'clock in the evening I had the greyhound bus from Adelaide up to Coober Pedy. 11 hours later at 5.15 I arrived in Coober Pedy. I went straight away to my underground motel and had a great sleep for a couple of hours. In the morning at 09.00 I woke up and explored the town. It was interesting to be there, but it's nothing more than a industrial town with a lot of opal shops in the middle of nowhere.

I visited the Old timers mine museum, the underground bookshop and underground church and did my laundry. Coober Pedy has one mainstreet and some sidestreets, that's all there is. After one night I headed forward to Alice Springs.

Annie's place was the place to be!
The first week I handed a lot of resumes, but even though a lot op people told me that there was a lot of work, nobody really called me back. So after 1,5 week I decided to do the rocktour.

Thursday 21 of June they picked me up at 6.15 in the morning. At 6.45 we left Alice Springs. Our tourgroup started with a South Korean named Hong, an Indonesier named Reza, a Chinees named Will, an American named Blair, an Australian/German couple named Kurt and Anna, me the Dutch girl and Fitzie our Australian tourguide.

Our first stop would be the airport to pick up another 8 persons. But before we arrived there we stopped in the middle of nowhere and we searched as a bunch of idiots for branches and trees to make the campfire in the evening. The guys were very active in climbing the trees and jumping to break them. It was an adventure and that is were our trip began. At 13.00 we arrived at the airport, our group was completed for the next 3 days.

Our first day was a chilly, cloudy day with some showers. The Base walk of 9,4k around Uluru was quite far, because of the weather and because there was no toilet around. Maybe you're all wondering why I didn't pi in the bush, because it's nature. Well I'll tell you that nobody wouldn't dare to do that at the mighty famous religion Uluru. At some points your not even allowed to take pictures, so having a pi is strictly prohibited. The rock is amazing, so weird if you look closer, but beautiful. The sunset at Uluru was dissapoited, because of all the clouds and because in wintertime the sun is not going under behind the rock. So sorry guys, but I don't have fancy, beautiful pictures of Uluru.

There for the stars at night were amazing. Sleeping around the campfire in a swag under the stars in wintertime was beautiful and off course the marshmallows were delicious!

The sunrise in the morning at Uluru wasn't that much either, but the Mala walk and story at Uluru was interesting and sad at the same time. The walkingtrack Valleys of the wind at Kata Tjuta was great. Very chilly, because the wind blow you away, but so fantastic. The weather was great, so sad that we didn't had that the first day. The second day we drove to Kings Canyon Creek, were we would overnight. Dinner was good and delicious: Chili con carne with rice. We all slept around the campfire except for Fitzie, he doesn't like snorring people.
Before we went to bed, we heard some dingo's and I knew that I had to go to the toilet at night. The toilet were quite far away and with my little torse that would be a hell of a ride, cause I already got lost several times that afternoon. So at 2.15 at night I went to the toilet and on my way back I got lost off course ;-). I ended up at someone else territory and a guy yelled "Who is there?" I didn't answer, cause he wasn't talking to me in the middle of the night, was he? hihihi Anyway, because I didn't respond he sended soms dogs after me. I screamed like I could and then when they stopped grouwing I said " It's just me!" Like it would help me.
After 15 to 20 minutes walk I finally found the camp. What an idiot I am, I laughed myself to sleep again.

The next day early in the morning we drove to Kings Canyon to see the sunrise on the top. The first half hour was hard, we went straight up. No condition at all. :-( The view at the top was nice. The old plants in the Eden valley were fantastic. Those plants are still from Dinosaur time, unbelievable ha?
In the afternoon some of us ride a camel and at 17.00 we were back at Alice Springs. In the evening we ate and had a drink together at the rockbar and there is were the tour really ended.

It was an amazing experience to sleep in a swag under the stars. I had a great time, thanks to everyone on the tour.

Sunday I went to the Reptile centre and hold for the first time in my life a snake, a blue tang lizard and a goanna. I'm proud of myself!

On monday I did the online RSA course for whole Australia, except NSW cause I already have that one.
In the evening I ate together with Umberto, Jesse and Da Jung rice paper as a goodbye dinner. After dinner we went to the movie Brave and then afterwards we had a drink at Annie's Place. The next morning I left Alice Springs for Beverley.

08.30 I got the shuttle bus to the Airport. 10.00 I had the plane. 12.30 I got a taxi with Cheyne. 14.00 Cheyne brought me in his car tot the train station of Fremantle. 14.30 I arrived at East Perth. And at 17.00 I got the bus to Beverley were I arrived at 19.30 in the evening. So I used almost every public transport there is in one day.

Beverley is a town with 848 people, mostly elderly people. It has one mainstreet with shops, that aren't open every day. There is one expensive supermarkt and 2 country pubs. The bottom one Freemasons Tavern, that's the one were I work. On saturday it's more busy than any other day. There is not a lot to do here, so people who like to go out a lot, have an other provider than Telstra and can't be alone, shouldn't come or stay here. I am here for a week now and already know a lot of people.

I guess this was the last update so far. I'm gonna stay here for 3 months so I won't have much news for you from now on.

Hope you're all doing fine??

Love Lai

Things to know:
- Alice Springs has no China Town.
- Beverley has no traffic lights.
- Together with Luise (working in top pub) we are the only backpackers in town.

  • 02 Juli 2012 - 10:31

    Max:

    Wow what an adventures! Never imagined you would sleep outside ;) What's a swag? Those dogs must have scared the pee out of you for the rest of the night? 3 months in such a small place seems like a long time. I hope you won't get bored. At least you got a job, a collega(what's the english word?:P) and got to know alot of people already.

    I guess I'll just do a prayer for you after that dog chase and problems with reading a map. Who know what can happen in such a small town ;p xx

  • 02 Juli 2012 - 12:16

    Auntie Jet:

    oeps, auntie Jet is not so good in english, I only was two times 5-6 weeks in Australia and everybody spoke strange. but I understand you had a good time, you are not bite by a snake, not fallen from the rock and not shot off by an angry man in the middle of the night. Have a good job!
    kiss***

  • 02 Juli 2012 - 18:01

    Mathea:

    "Once a jolly swaggirl went to Aussie-land and had some great adventures. From a 4 million modern city to a small outback town; she was seen everywhere"

    Perhaps your story can start in this way? Anyway, it's nice to read about all the experiences and you know I follow you on the map !!
    Hope you can enjoy your job and make some friends to go out with.
    Greetings from Veghel.

  • 09 Juli 2012 - 10:32

    Dao:

    Great adventures you had in the last couple of weeks! Especially the one where you almost got ''devoured'' by some dogs. Like it would make a difference if you're screaming, I don't thinks so.... haha Really? No traffic lights in Beverly? Sounds familiar! But three months in Beverly, can you cope that sis? Anyway, nice pictures of you on your FB!
    Take care and keep in touch!
    Hugs & kisses

  • 13 Augustus 2012 - 13:16

    Joey:

    Hey there, my English is also not as good as it should be.

    Nice to hear that you doing that much adventures there, do you already got a response on one of you job requests?
    Last week I was so close to you! well Mathea told me I had to fly six more hours before I would reach you. Mike and I where on a holiday in Indonesia. We had a great time :) also seen a lot.

    Bye Joey

  • 16 Augustus 2012 - 12:29

    Ans In Hobart:

    Dag lieve Lai, ik schrijf in het Nederlands, ik vind dat maar niks, al die Nederlanders die in het Engels willen schrijven! Wat een geweldig avontuur Lai, die tocht naar Uluru en omgeving. wij zijn daar nog nooit geweest maar hebben plannen voor een Australie reis als we allebei echt gepensioneerd zijn. Op het moment is het hier druk rondom het huis. We krijgen om het hele huis nieuwe pijpleidingen dus alles ligt open en we hopen maar dat het niet gaat regenen.........
    Iemand hier heeft me verteld dat Beverley een oud mijnstadje is. Klopt dat? Ik vraag me af of al die mijnstadjes die nu vol zitten met mijnwerkers vanwege de hoogkonjunktuur in de mijnindustrie over 20 jaar ook allemaal uigestorven zijn.
    Wanneer zijn de 3 maanden om? Wat ga je daarna doen? Seth was 6 weken in Europa en komt morgen weer terug in Melbourne. Kom jij toevallig nog in Melbourne voordat je Australie gaat verlaten?
    Lieve groeten uit een zonnig maar nogal koud Hobart.
    Ans

  • 28 Augustus 2012 - 22:15

    Han:

    Bonjour Lai,
    Ca va. Ici toutes est bien. Je suis heureux d' ecrire en francais. C' est formidable que les Hollandais veulent parler et ecrire dans une langue different. Je sais que ecrire une lettre en francais est difficille. Mes excuses pour le mauvais francais. Maïs j' espere que vous peut comprends ma lettre. Quand est le rendez vous en Hollande.
    Pour ce moment,
    Salutations

    Han et Ingrid

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Beverley

Mijn droom

Recente Reisverslagen:

31 Januari 2013

Last update Australia

07 Januari 2013

Good Morning Vietnam

04 November 2012

Go with the flow

04 Oktober 2012

Goodbye Beverley

17 September 2012

My time in Beverley
Lai

Lieve familie, vrienden en geïnteresseerden, Het is bijna zover! Ik ga weer op pad! Natuurlijk willen jullie allemaal weten wat ik doe, wie ik ontmoet en waar ik uithang! Daarom deze site: waar jullie al mijn avonturen kunnen volgen, andere gewoontes/ culturen op kunnen snuiven en mij op de hoogte kunnen houden van jullie doen en laten. Laat wat van je horen! Liefs Lai

Actief sinds 08 Okt. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 576
Totaal aantal bezoekers 69944

Voorgaande reizen:

10 Januari 2016 - 10 Januari 2017

Slenteren door Europa

08 Maart 2013 - 01 November 2014

Vlieland

14 Januari 2014 - 15 April 2014

Australia here i come again!!

15 Januari 2012 - 15 Januari 2013

Mijn droom

Landen bezocht: